top of page


​by Margaux Salcedo, Clyde Nolasco

A​nother honor and huge responsibility for Cardinal Luis Antonio Tagle:

Pope Francis has just appointed Cardinal Tagle to the ​Pontifical Council for Inter-religious Dialogue.

Cardinal Luis Antonio Tagle is currently the Prefect of the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples and also continues to serve as President of Caritas Internationalis.

​T​he Pontifical Council for Interreligious Dialogue (PCID) is a dicastery of the Roman Curia, erected by Pope Paul VI on 19 May 1964 as the Secretariat for Non-Christians, and renamed by Pope John Paul II on 28 June 1988​. This is the central office of the Church for the promotion of interreligious dialogue in accordance with the spirit of the Second Vatican Council, in particular the declaration Nostra aetate​ (our age).

According to Vatican News, ​​ ​​"​It is responsible for promoting mutual understanding, respect, and collaboration between Catholics and followers of other religious traditions; encouraging the study of religions; and promoting the formation of persons dedicated to dialogue.​"​​ ​The current President for the Pontifical Council for Inter-religious Dialogue is Cardinal Miguel Ángel Ayuso Guixot, who has held the post since 25 May 2019.

Others who were appointed are: Michael Czerny, SJ, the Under-secretary of the Migrants and Refugees Section of the Dicastery for Promoting Integral Human Development; Cardinal Dieudonné Nzapalainga, Archbishop of Bangui; Cardinal Louis-Marie Ling Mangkhanekhoun, Vicar Apostolic of Vientiane; Cardinal Ignatius Suharyo Hardjoatmodjo, Archbishop Jakarta and Ordinary of the Military Ordinariate of Indonesia; and Cardinal Jean-Claude Höllerich, Archbishop of Luxembourg. The following bishops from ​around the world were also named members of the Council: Lawrence Huculak, Archbishop of Winnipeg of the Ukrainians; Archbishop Felix Anthony Machado, Bishop of Vasai; George Frendo, Archbishop of Tiranë-Durrës; Mark Tin Win, Archbishop of Mandalay; Jean-Marc Aveline, Archbishop of Marseille; Paul Yoshinao Otsuka, Bishop of Kyōto; Thomas Chung An-zu, Bishop of Kiayi; Raphy Manjaly, Bishop of Allahabad; Ambrogio Spreafico, Bishop of Frosinone-Veroli-Ferentino; Michael Joseph McKenna, Bishop of Bathurst; William Hanna Shomali, titular Bishop of Lidda; Denis Chidi Isizoh, titular Bishop of Legia; Patrick Joseph McKinney, Bishop of Nottingham; James Massa, titular Bishop of Bardstown; Paul Desfarges, Archbishop of Alger; and Joseph Đình Đúc Đao, Bishop of Xuân Lôc.

The announcement of the appointments was made on Wednesday at the Vatican.

Cover Photo: Vatican News

6,900 views0 comments


bottom of page