top of page

Archdiocesan Shrine of St. Anne, Church of Saint Dominic elevated into Minor Basilicas

by Joel V. Ocampo

Just within a day, the Vatican elevated two Philippine Churches into minor basilicas: the Archdiocesan Shrine of St. Anne of Pasig and the Church of Saint Dominic of Lingayen-Dagupan.

Archdiocesan Shrine of St. Anne

On July 26, 2022, His Excellency Most Rev. Mylo Hubert C. Vergara, D.D., Bishop of Pasig, announced during the Mass that the Vatican has formally designated the Archdiocesan Shrine of St. Anne in Taguig City as a minor basilica. He joyfully said, “I wish to announce this great news: the Holy See approved already our request of a decree, granting the title of “Minor Basilica” to the Archdiocesan Shrine of St. Anne.”

As preparation for the day of the solemn proclamation of the title minor basilica, Bishop Vergara commissioned Rev. Fr. Orlando “Orly” B. Cantillon, rector and parish priest of the Archdiocesan Shrine of St. Anne, and the working committees to:

  1. catechized the whole community as regards to the significance of and importance of the title “minor basilica”,

  2. involve everyone in the preparation, exercise synodality among and between organizations, ministries, and even local government units.

Bishop Vergara emphasized, “No should be left behind.” He added, “Tayo po ay magtulung-tulong, wala na po tayong away-away, tampuhan, iringan, tayo po’y magpakisamahan, pakibagayan ang bawat isa. Ito po ay malaking biyaya sa atin.”

Bishop Vergara also told the faithful that the Archdiocesan Shrine of St. Anne is the first basilica of the Diocese of Pasig. He ended his announcement with the pledge, “As always, let me assure you of my sincere and heartfelt support and prayers.”

The Archdiocesan Shrine of St. Anne was built in 1587. It is located in Barangay Sta. Ana, Taguig, and is one of the oldest churches in the Philippines. It was destroyed by an earthquake in 1645 and reconstructed in 1848. It was destroyed again by another earthquake and was rebuilt in 1896 by Fr. Guillermo Diaz. A new retablo was installed in the year 2003 by the then parish priest, Rev. Fr. Roy M. Rosales.

Photo from the Archdiocesan Shrine of St. Anne Facebok Page

Parish Church of Saint Dominic

On the same day, the Archdiocese of Lingayen-Dagupan also announced on their official Facebook page that “The Holy Father Pope Francis has seen fit to bestow the title MINOR BASILICA upon the Parish Church of Saint Dominic in the City of San Carlos in the Archdiocese of Lingayen Dagupan.”

St. Dominic de Guzman Parish Church is a Roman Catholic church located in the City of San Carlos, Pangasinan, Philippines. It is the first Dominican church in Pangasinan. It started as a simple chapel that is made of bamboo and nipa, built in 1587 in Binalatongan now San Carlos City. The original site was moved to higher locations three times in the 17th and 19th centuries due to seasonal flooding. After the Palaris revolt in 1765, a new church in its current site was built and completed in 1773. The church is now 250 years old. The present church is made out of bricks. It used to be the largest Catholic church in the Philippines during the late 18th century.

Photo from the Lumang Simbahan Facebok Page

560 views0 comments


bottom of page